What's new
What's new

Short Circuit vs Spray Transfer

Grits

Stainless
Good Morning Everyone

The applications and setup for spray transfer is a little confusing to me. As I have mentioned before, I am a beginner.

Is spray transfer something that happens when voltage and current reache a certain level? Does you machine have to set up differently for spray transfer in terns of wire type and shielding gas?

Is spray transfer something I need to be concerned with?

The more I learn the more confused I get.

Grits

yes and no.

spray transfer happens when you have the voltage and wire feed settings such that you have a stream of fine droplets of filler metal being transferred across the arc to to the metal being welded. voltage requirements will depend on the shielding gas and the wire size and the wire feed rate.

You should be concerned with spray transfer welding if you want to get sound welds with the mig process on heavy work pieces. it also leaves very little if any spatter (waste filler), which can be very handy in some situations, and very economical in large operations. One disadvantage of spray transfer, is that as far as I know, it doesn't work so good out of position, i.e. overhead and on horizontal surfaces, since the puddle is so fluid, but that I think depends on the application (workpiece thickness, etc.) I tend to weld most of the things I am working on in a flat or near flat position, and am not often in the business of using spray arc transfer. You should be able to get sound welds using short arc on mild steel plate up to at least 3/8 inch thick, depending on the amperage your welder can put out.