What's new
What's new

Silver solder stainless ?

Kevlarman

Aluminum
I need to join two M6 stainless nuts to a 1.6mm thick by 10mm wide stainless steel band to form a clamp to use on a kayak paddle shaft joiner. Can one silver solder it, as TIG welding it tends too ruin the thread as I am not experienced enough to get good results when TIG welding it.
Any suggestions or recommendations are welcome.

I dont know exactly what you are making, not into kayaks myself, but you can silver solder stainless steel. I do it all the time and I use a wire solder and flux from Weller. The solder is 56% silver and the flux is a white borax flux. Practice a little and it should solder with no problems, its up to you though to determine if the joint is suffecient for what you want to do.

Charles

Thank you. What I do is build rather high tech kayak paddles with technology very similar to what is used in the aero space industry, started out as a kid 35 years ago building paddles and still at it. Thanks once again.

I used to silver solder gas delivery systems using SS hypodermic tubing. I found that with the small pieces of tubing it was very easy to over heat the SS and create an oxide layer that the sivler solder would adhere to. You could peel it off if this happened so the joints were not reliable. Mostly, I have silver soldered SS with no problems though, it's just that thin small stuff that gave me grief.

Thin like in hypodermic tubing thin. The tubing had wall thickness of only a few thousandths and would heat up very quickly.