What's new
What's new

TIG welding - which way ?

AlexO

Banned
I TIG weld every day for ages but only small stuff and...I'm crap at it. I weld by the book - towards the rod. Make puddle, dip, melt, repeat. However, when I go away from the rod ( the other way around ) I can make beautiful, machine like welds and can't see any difference.
Is there any ???

And secondly : is there any trick in having a stable arm when welding vertically or upside down ? I don't have a touch of Parkie but my arm just doesn't seem to want to follow my brain.

Hmm. If you want to emulate the welders I have met, you need to look into drugs and alcohol. Seems to be an industry standard here in the US.

Hmm. If you want to emulate the welders I have met, you need to look into drugs and alcohol. Seems to be an industry standard here in the US.

:D
LoL! I am not a good welder, and maybe not even a half-ass welder, but most welders (by trade or whatever), I've met, seem to think they are gods among men. :rolleyes5:

I TIG weld every day for ages but only small stuff and...I'm crap at it. I weld by the book - towards the rod. Make puddle, dip, melt, repeat. However, when I go away from the rod ( the other way around ) I can make beautiful, machine like welds and can't see any difference.
Is there any ???

Dunno.
Maybe you are forced to keep the rod at bigger angle because weld bead will be on your way and because of that need the electrode pulled out more to have enough room to get your rod in the pool.. might have oxidation issues at some point.

Do you use the technique only on mild steel or also on SS and alu?
Mild steel is very forgiving compared to stainless or alu and lets you make all sort of compromises.

Dunno.
Maybe you are forced to keep the rod at bigger angle because weld bead will be on your way and because of that need the electrode pulled out more to have enough room to get your rod in the pool.. might have oxidation issues at some point.