What's new
What's new

Is this a vertical mill job?

fivefork

Plastic
I've been fabricating furniture and the odd handrail, etc for a few years now. I don't have any experience with a mill or lathe and so don't have a very specific idea of what I could do with one. I'm tempted to get a mill because I have a few applications where, if it served my purpose, I think it could justify itself in fairly short order.

I make a fair number of these cube coffee table bases like in the photo, from 5/8" cold rolled square rod. The glass is just resting on top of the frame. I'd like to inset the glass, but I don't like welding in tabs as it takes away from the clean look. Do you think it would be possible to mill out a corner along the entire length of my pieces of rod that make up the top, removing maybe 1/8" x 1/8"? I'd be effectively creating 5/8" angle in 1/2" thickness, so there would be an inset "tray" sort of for the glass to drop into. Hope that makes sense.

Anyway, I'm not sure if you can process entire lengths of rod like that with a Bridgeport-type mill, or if you can what power/travel specs you'd look for to ensure that it would do it smoothly. I'm sure if I get a mill I'd immediately not be able to imagine how I got by without it, but it's nice when you're scraping together the cash to buy something, to know how it's going to make it worthwhile.

Thanks for the help!

Attachments

• Glass coffee table with powdercoated steel base.jpg
    Glass coffee table with powdercoated steel base.jpg
    44.7 KB · Views: 428
Yes, you could create a milled pocket to recess the glass. Keep in mind cold rolled stock has much residual stress and will move when you mill it. Expect it to curve to the milled side, a 1/2" curvature in a 50" piece wouldn't surprise me at all. Straightening is possible but adds another step and learning curve. The length required may require repositioning the workpiece.