What's new
What's new

Convert acetylene heating head to propane?

PeteM

Diamond
At least by casual appearances, it looks like the main difference between a rosebud for acetylene and one for propane is that the propane one has countersunk holes, to keep the flame closer to the head.

My question: can a put tiny countersunk holes in an acetylene rosebud and expect it to do OK on propane? Or, should I just sell my acetylene rosebuds and buy the proper propane ones?

If it makes a difference I have acetylene rosebud heating tips for a medium duty Victor torch and a small W-200 Purox torch.

Pete, I'm no expert, but I don't think I'd trust a casual appearance on this one. I'd look for an LP rosebud if I were you.

metalmagpie

Contact the maker of the tip and ask them. The rosebud I use does not have counterunk orifices and I heat with propane and O2 just fine. I've been using the same tip for about 20 years now.

Why not go to Harbour Freight and pick up one of their propane weed burners for a jumbo rosebud on the cheap. Or you could just buy the correct propane head for your current outfit.

Thanks for the responses. My welding supplier says the only differences in the Victor screw-on tips are the recesses. He doesn't know about the dedicated rosebuds.

I've already got the weed burner, but without oxygen in the mix it's not hot enough for my purposes.

Still waiting on some "T" hose to try the existing acetylene tips and rosebuds I have -- some apparently work OK on propane but not the other way around. Also a bunch of propane cutting tips on order for my existing torches -- those are cheap.

A new Victor propane rosebud is around $80, so if the acetylene one I have is close to burning OK, I may just try countersinking the heating orifices a bit.