What's new
What's new

Buying a MIG Welder

3in1

Plastic
Hello,

I'm a stick welder back to the 60's, not my main job but something I had to do from time to time being a diesel mechanic. Retired now but seem to need to weld something about once a year. Got a nice Lincoln 225a stick welder that can do about anything in steel. Sometimes I need to weld Aluminum but can't. Looking to sell my stick welder and get a nice Lincoln MIG that can do the shielding gas so I can do aluminum.

I've got 220 in the garage but those units are twice the cost of a 110 and I'd need a long extension cord to get out of the garage. Most of my projects are small and don't take that long. Wouldn't be welding for say more than a half hour. Most of my projects are thinner metal like 1/8" but sometimes thicker 1/4-3/8".

Do I need the 220 or will a 110 unit do for me? If I move I'd need to get 220 installed. My dad had a 90a 110v Craftsman stick that he could weld just about anything with but that's what he did for a living.

Thanks!!

Hi
Have you looked at the Lincoln 210MP multi-process welder.
It does stick, MIG and TIG and it runs off 110 or 220 for not too many $$$.

Well most aluminium that is thin like you say your going to weld is TIG welded.
From what i know MIG comes in for thicker product.
You would need to check how suitable it is for thin material.

There is a cost to going to a GAS consuming system TIG or MIG you generally have to rent the bottles and that cost is present even when your not actually welding, not including the actual gas used cost.
Big difference from the Stick world.

Thats about all i got for Aluminium as i have done some but would not say lots so have a little experience, see if someone who does it for a living chimes in.

If you want to weld aluminum with a MIG welder, you will need a unit that has the capability of using a spool gun since aluminum wire will generally not feed properly through the standard roll feed of most units.