First time on a Tig torch.....

Dave K2

Stainless
Ok, time for some p***taking:D

Finally managed to get some play time tonight,

3mm steel, 90A, 5lpm
Autogenous (sp) beads....
tig1.JPG

Beads with filler rod, too slow at front?
tig2.JPG

The back, lots of penetration?
tigback.JPG

Then I thought, what the heck, and tried a fillet, 110A
tigfillet.JPG

I tack welded the ends first, this worked beautifully, then tried a run but found the rod favoured one side or the other, so I cheated and went over the top, this is the result above. Whether or not it's the done thing, I was most impressed at how easy it was to reflow the mess, add a bit more get a possibly usable result?

Things I've learnt...
The torch seems awkward to hold and move, I tended to use my wrist than slide along?
It puts a massive amount of heat down, not sure what I was expecting but damn hot!
There's lots going on, kept forgetting to feed the rod and ended up with a red hot glove

Considering it's my first time ever with tig, what you reckon?

I found it much more enjoyable than Mig and that's fun, being able to see what's going on was good too, watching the metal pool up and the rod flowing in is good. No spatter, much slower, time to think, excellent fun.

So suggestions please, obviously need to practice beads while moving but what's a good thing to do???

Oh and I only dipped the tip once:)

I would say ur WAY to hot
I use 2% thoriated tungsten ground to needle sharp point on steel
Also match ur electrode size , filler size , cup size ,gas mixture ,flow and then ur amps

Dave K2

I have seen worse, including my own early efforts.

#1 Running the torch near to the edge of a plate trying to just melt the corner is good practice for controlling the torch in a straight line. This is
without filler rod.
#2 Develop the co-ordination between weld pool movement and rod insertion at low (=slow) power, ignore lack of penetration. Add power and speed