What's new
What's new

4140 tool steel

myford7type

Aluminum
I got a bunch of 4140 tool steel for free and was wondering what you guys think of the stuff any suggestions on machining it?

I have a job this week that requires 2 fixtures made of 4140 annealed and I am wondering how it grinds, and if it is hard to tap. Rockwell is 25-32c. I know you can get a good finish milling, but I have limited experience with it on some old worn out equipment. Nice stuff to get for free. Thanks for bringing up the subject.

I've had the pleasure of using this stuff in my Machine Tech. class. I've milled and turned it, and getting a good finish is nearly fool-proof. One part I made for my lathe required six tapped holes 10-32 about 1/4" deep (not blind). I "babied" the first two, then realized I could do it much faster and not break the chips as often. I also had to tap six 5/16-24 holes about 1" deep. I just power-tapped these on the mill with no problems at all. I used Tap Magic, by the way.

4140 is very easy material to work with. No problems drilling, milling, tapping, etc.
It's great for general, all purpose, machinery uses.

4140 or Break Die is a pretty good material
to work with BUT it will work harden in a
second. Use plenty of cutting oil/coolant
when machining and use sharp tools. I use
heat treated (with a torch) to make fast
replacement die blocks and for short run dies
You can't weld it very easy (it cracks).
You might be able to preheat for welding but
I've never tried. Again I wish I could find
the places that give away tool steel and the
cheap but perfect SB lathes at auctions.

I worked with 4140 on a daily basis for almost 11 years. Run about 75 SFM on your drills and end mills. About 20-25 SFM on taps. I brush the tap with 40 wieght motor oil to lube it and keep plenty of coolant on the other tools.