What's new
What's new

hydraulic cylinder packing

freddycougar

Aluminum
i want to construct a ram with a 1.25 bore, do i need to go to a cylinder packing or will a good o ring be sufficent? it is a bandsaw blade tensioning cylinder.. typical tension 2000..3000 pounds of force . so aprox the same psi

I'm not an expert but I think agood o-ring would work. Or better yet, buy a seal and seal/piston made specifically for hydraulic cylinders. They're not too expensive and you'd be sure of good results.

I dont know what the tension would convert to in psi but I have built hyd. cylinders that operated at 5,000 psi with only O-rings. But it had very smooth finishes and close fits and was used in a very clean place. In your situation the slightest leak will lose tension. I would use rope packing and add a wiper to the packing nut.

Can you use the ram off a hyd. jack?
I just built a bandsaw mill and used one to tension the 158" blade.

P.O.

thanks for the replys.. 1.25 bore is .98 sq inch so pressure read force.. i am going to use micro hone hyd tubing good honed finish.. i realise an o.ring/backup will work just not sure how long..was going to use a porta-power jack but it is easer to build one.(cheaper)ha..thanks for your opinions

Use a polyurethane U cup seal with an integral expander. Use the same type seal as the rod seal, and use a canned wiper on the rod to protect the seal. O-rings will work, but poly u-cups will work on surfaces where o-rings wouldn't stand a chance. You're looking at maybe 15 bucks max for the u-cups and wiper.

baumhydraulics.com at Omaha sells seals and stuff by dimension and picture. Achieving the polish in the barrel will be tough. A seal of different material would be way more forgiving than an O ring.

thanks for the suggestions.. found a d ring.. cat product, looks like it might be usable.. btw the tubing for the barel is already honed.. it is .250 wall and is fairly expensive,, like 25.00 per foot,