What's new
What's new

LeBlond Regal 13" (worth a punt?)

raff35

Plastic
Howdy,
I have an opportunity to buy a regal 13". The guy wants one thousand aussie dollars for it, he doent really knpow anything about it butit does come with a bunch of tooling.

I was wondering if people here could tell me whether this is a servo shift (which id like to avoid if possible) Also, is this the model that will only run up to 500rpm.

I am a newbie when it comes to lathes but I want a machine which I can use to run up cranks and possibly gears, also due to wanting to make cranks ill need to be able to do taper work.

Here are some pics of everything included.

Attachments

• b78a_1.jpg
    b78a_1.jpg
    20.6 KB · Views: 1,295
  • b6fa_1.jpg
    b6fa_1.jpg
    21.9 KB · Views: 1,700
  • b74f_1.jpg
    b74f_1.jpg
    17.2 KB · Views: 852
  • b822_1.jpg
    b822_1.jpg
    20.7 KB · Views: 722
  • b697_1.jpg
    b697_1.jpg
    20.6 KB · Views: 3,162
Looks to old to be a servo-shift. Also looks like it has a variable drive by the looks of the dial on top so my guess is it'll go more than 500 rpm.
Around here if the ways are good, I'd have it loaded on my truck already.
Dave

I agree that it is to old to be a servo shift. It looks to be vintage late 40s and these 13" Leblonds were made for teaching purposes---high schools, vocational schools, or technical schools. They are tough old lathes. I have one, almost, identical and wish I had the tooling that is shown with that one. Tooling is very expensive--don't think you can go wrong at the quoted price. Can you operate it or have the owner operate it? If it is not under power, you can "search" this forum for information on "what to look for when buying a lathe?" The motor is probably a 3 phase motor and you can get a VFD converter or change it to a single phase motor--unless you have a 3 phase hook up. Good luck with your decision and I vote--buy it.