What's new
What's new

how do you deal with the public?

toolmakerjim

Titanium
i think i have just finished my last comercial job.
i have been doing work for this guy for the past 2 years and every time he pisses and moans about the price.
this time he had a road grader kingpin spindle housing he wanted to weldup then have me bore it for a bushing, press fit to boot.
anyway at the time i quoted him $125. for the job now he has a memory loss and wants to weasle out of payment. what a pain in the butt it was to do anyway, nothing to reference from nothing square,had to align with a plug from the matching hole and a total of 6+ hours to complete plus he didnt weld the bore completely just from 11o'clock to 7 o'clock.
at the time we discussed this job i advised him that i never had much sucess machining welds especially where you are welding the interface of a machinined surface and expect to machine it cleanly.
anyway sorry for the rant what would you professional guys do? im going to tell him to try the other shops in the area, after he pays me.

i'm so looking forward to putting my NEW insurance liscence, yes i finally passed the state exam, to work starting in March at least i can work from a premium chart instead of listening to the cry babies...jim

The only way around that is to have a written quote and work order... No memory loss there..

Yes Jim, those kind of customers will drive you to the looney bin.

The best way to clean up a welded bore is a toolpost grinder. Welded bores are tough on tooling. The interrupted cuts are murder. The grinder doesn't seem to care how uneven the surface is and will knock off all the high spots no problem. Depending on how decent the weld job is and your finish requirements, you can either grind to your final dimension or switch back to boring for a final clean up.

Good luck with your insurance biz.

Les

Him,(your customer)
I tell to not let the door hit him in the ass on his way out!