What's new
What's new

Brown & Sharpe Indexing/Dividing head info

rustyzman

Aluminum
Hi all!

Need to see if anyone can give me some info on this Brown & Sharpe Indexing / Dividing head and tailstock I just got on ebay (I am a newbie, so if I did not describe this item correctly, please let me know). See photos below.
000_2560.jpg

000_2565.jpg

000_2561.jpg

000_2564.jpg

I got them for $200 with tax. Honestly, was this a good deal, or did I screw up?
It is very smooth and looks a lot better in person than in the pics.
It's from a local tool and die shop in Chicago that is moving to the suburbs into a smaller shop, so some items and machines are being sold off before the move. Local pickup is the only reason I could get this. The shipping would have been $150 alone.

The only numbers on the unit are 3452 stamped on the top.

Does anyone know what model this is?

What kind of oil does it use?

I am a home shop machinist with limited experience, and I do have a few books from Lindsay on order that cover the use of these, but anyone have suggested reading for this unit?

How about original manuals for it, any available?

How old is it?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks all,

Pete.

Nice score, Pete. Can't help you with the historical info. I can say that I have an import that cost roughly what you paid for the B & S and it is not in the same league in terms of quality!

edited to add:

P.S. I think that there is a complete section in "Machinery's Handbook" on the B & S dividing head.

Good job Pete! Yes you got a great deal, had that been a Reliable Tool auction I bet it would have sold for close to $500 (seriously! a smaller, L-W Chuck sold for $306 the other day)! I recognize that one too. I was watching it and would have bid on it if it were in my neck of the woods. Like you, I found one locally and I’m off to pick it up tomorrow morning.

Its the "plain" version - I.E., not the one that can be geared to the lead screw to mill helixes on a universal mill.