What's new
What's new

Machining titanium

pheyden

Plastic
I want to reprofile the heads of some existing titanium valves to fit them to a smaller head. Have never worked with this material. Any hints??

Whatever tools your using.Make sure to check some surface footage speed and feed guidelines before proceeding.As long as you stay in the proper parameters for feed and speeds you should have no problem.

I have been cutting titanium for 20 to 30 years, both milling and lathe. Great nmaterial and fun to cut. My rules are to use only sharp cutting tools and replace them the minute they get dull. Use coolant (brush if doing it manually)and watch the chips come of, thin chips similar to aluminum.

You cannot take of large amounts of material per tooth, but you can use the cutting diamter of the end mill same as in aluminum, only you need to go slow speed and figure .002 chip thickness per tooth.

The slow speed of cutting titanium may drive you nuts, and you may be tempted to push it when it appears to cut easily, but if you try to overcome it you will go home without having had a productive day. If you found a way that it cuts, leave it alone and don't try to improve it. Watch the process closely all of the time (don't walk away) and change tools immediately when they get dull.

I like cutting titanium the best of all the metals. absolutely no problems if you have sharp tools and go slow.

"Titanium work hardens very easily. Light or fast cuts are not advised.
David from jax"

Sounds to me you tend to use somehwat dull cutting tools.

When titanium work hardens, there is no way to cut it out even with a coablt end mill, you need a carbide end mill and then you can throw away that end mill and use th next new one to continue getting out the work hardened area.

Titanium does not work harden as long as you sue sharp cutters. You have SERO problems cutting titanium as long as you use sharp cutting tools.