What's new
What's new

Cat 30 Tool Holders for a Millrite Mill

rookie1

Plastic
Hi everyone. I am new to this forum and have found it to be a GREAT place for info! I am a bit of a rookie so please bear with me if i ask some pretty basic/stupid questions! :o

I have restored an old Millrite mill to operation and need a little advice on tool holders. It appears my Millrite has a Cat 30 taper. the tool holders i have are all marked in some manner with a "30" (ex. 5/8 x 30) and the draw bar on the mill is a 1/2x13 which seems to confirm that is a Cat 30 taper.

Is there any way to absolutely confirm that it is a Cat 30 taper?

If it is, does anyone know of a place that may still sell or has any Cat 30 tool holders?

bob:confused:

If the thread in the back of the tool holder is 1/2-13 and the tool holder has 2 drive slots then I am about 95% sure it is CAT30. If it is CAT30 the biggest diameter on the tool holder should be 1.812 in diameter.

I would love to quote you some holders but my backlog is getting pretty big. Try to Google cat30 and cat 30. Good luck. Be careful with ISO30 it is not the same.

Cat 30 tool holders.

I just looked in my machinerys handbook, Cat 30 holders are 1.250 inches at the gage line. This dim seems to come up on both spindle gage lines and gage lines on tool holder. ANSI B5.18 1972 (R1998)
Fmari, 1.812 inches? Where do dat come from?
Regards Walt..

if its an older machine its probably a nmtb 30 taper. if you use cat30s you might need a longer drawbar. just search ebay for 30 taper, there is a bunch there.

Ok, i have looked at ebay and at my tool holders again and it appears that i have both the nmtb 30 and one Cat 30 tool holder. I am guessing that the nmtb 30 also uses a 1/2x13 drawbar? Also, from the model number, the machine was most likely built in 1965.

thanks for the advise!