What's new
What's new

Press fit for bearing housing question

rich p

Cast Iron
I have been machining bearing housings out of aluminum for the past few years, (4 per year for a machine) and I sometimes have trouble with the bearing pocket being hit or miss, too tight or too loose. The bearing o.d. is 1.575" and I am boring it about .0005 undersize. My question is how do you come up on a tight dimension? Between the aluminum being hot and expanded and the fact that the lathe cross feed is in .001 graduations, and I need tenths, I sometimes overbore. I am a machine mechanic, but I enjoy making parts for these older machines. Any help would be appreciated.

#1. dont turn the handle a "whole" graduation!

#2. sand that last bit.

#3. use green locktite on the loose ones.

#4. make a go-nogo type gage. (more like a goalittlemore-good)

make the "goalittlemore" portion .001 under target. make the "good" .0002 under target. when your to "goalittlemore" make a few "spring cuts" - cuts with no more infeed. creep up on making "good" just fit.

if

Machine them tight by a thou or so, and heat
the aluminum housing for a shrink fit.

If the interior surface of the bore has a one
thou surface roughness, you might make them
even tighter than a one thou interference.

Jim

Two things I do is put an indicator on the cross slide of the lathe graduated in .0001, if you don't have one you could use a test indicator like you use on a mill to true up a vise. The other thing is I always open the begining of the bore to the bearing bore so the bearing can drop in so when you start pressing it will start straight less chance of not going in straight, now if the bearing is not very thick this is not a good idea just be careful.
Another thing is to try to avoid heat especially when trying to to the finish pass use coolant or even air to cool the part otherwise it will come out different when it does cool.