What's new
What's new

drill bit recommendations

mark thomas

Titanium
I'm going to get a new set of standard fractional drills. Just regular jobber drills for routine drilling (mostly mild steel, but occasionally aluminum, alloy steel, etc.) But what to buy? There is such a wide price range. Looking at Enco and McMaster, the price for 1-16 to 1/2 by 64ths sets ranges from $30 to $400 dollars. More than a factor of 10 price range! I'm a hobbyist and don't need production-shop grade stuff, but I have very low patience with real low-end stuff.

The major differences seem to be:

- HSS vs. Cobalt
- 118 vs. 135 split point
- Coated (TiN or TiCN) vs. not (black oxide or bright)
- Import vs. USA (though often not stated)
- "heavy duty" vs not

Not all combinations are available of course. But at one end for $30-50 you get Enco, black oxide, 118 degree. At ~$400 you get "heavy duty" cobalt, TiN, 135 split point, American-made.

Typically under these kind of circumstances I lean towards the middle, which in this case is "Heavy Duty HSS", TiN, 135 split point (origin unstated) from McMaster for ~$200.

Any recommendations much appreciated.

The cheaper drills I've seen were ground very poorly, were bent, and such... problems that made them practly useless.

I bought a set of 115 drills from Doall. I guess they're somewhere in the middle of the price range. Black oxide, very smooth grind and sharp, 118 point. I'm very happy with it. For replacements or larger drills, I get PTD's.

I've had pretty good luck with those inexpensive TIN coated sets that you see "on special" in the Travers Tool or KBC sales flyers once in a while. Its a practical impossibility to know what quality set you'd be buying at any given moment, I suppose.

I don't even use a drill index, all my drills are in drawers, put in order by size. I buy all the way up to TiN coated
carbide depending on the application. If I were
to buy a drill index collection I would go with