What's new
What's new

Finding center on the mill

Andy_paul

Cast Iron
Ok, I'm no master machinist. I'm self taught and have been doing pretty well in my home shop for the past 5 years. My biggest weakness is finding the center of a round part, and accurately drilling bolt circles, boring etc. I have trammed the head of the mill to within a thou or two. I always use a center drill, and for some reason, I always end up with holes that are off by .005-.01. I have a cheapo co-axial indicator, and I suspect it may be the problem. Its big, bulky and I always have to take the knee way down to have the real estate to use the darn thing. I'm all open to hear some better methods of how to find center.

A "thou or two" may not be good enough. If you move your table to a different spot to drill than where you indicated your part at you get projected error. also,Try a test indicator in an indicol rather than your co-ax it will tell you if your co-ax is cheesy or not. I recommend Interapid.

Yes, I do have a dro on the mill. Would it be necessary to lock the table with a very small spot drill? The DRO never shows more that .0002 movement. I think my problem lies in the centering of the part.

Couple of suggestions...

-use vee-jaws for a better grip on the part (4points of contact instead of 2)

-use a singlepoint test indicator...the coax relies on a mechanism and precision alignments and fits therein. I am a fan of Interapid's offerings in that category.

-use a 120 deg spotting drill rather than the center drill...cups the drill point better IMHO and just as rigid

-lock table & saddle gibs as suggested...noting any change in the DRO readings and compensating appropriately.