What's new
What's new

Digital Micrometer US v. import

TFPace

Stainless
I am giving into the desire to buy a digital micrometer.
I have used the Starrett 732-734's and as much as I like keeping the $$$ here in the USA I have heard too many good things about Asian/Chinese electronics.
There are several imports on eBay that are priced in the 20's-mid 30.00's range I can buy 4 or 5 imports for what one 734 sales for.

So with all this said.... do the imports hold up like the Starrett or Mits?

Thanks for your opinions.

Tom

I have a Mit SR44x1 and totally love the thing. I have several non-digital, but I tend to use this one almost all the time. I know that doesn't help you much but wanted to let you know.

I have been using Starrett 722 digital caliper for over 10 years. It uses two 386 batteries every six months. The batteries always seem to go when one needed the caliper most. A few months ago I bought a Chinese digital 6” caliper from HF for $20. It’s as good as the Starrett 722 and uses only a single sr44 battery. The import doesn’t have the 722 “tenth” bar indicator, but a caliper doesn’t obey the abbe condition and “tenths” are not reliable with a caliper. The Starrett 722D depth attachment fit the import caliper with some minor grinding on the import screw on bracket. The same import caliper is on sale at HF for $16 and comes with one spare battery. I only wish the import caliper was coolant proof.

Don Clement
Running Springs, California

I own both the Starrett and the Mitutoyo digitals with SPC, and like the Mitutoyo a bit better. The Starrett looks cool. The Mitutoyo has the better reputation for reliability.