What's new
What's new

OT- Running mower engines full throttle?

MarkL

Aluminum
Can anyone tell me the rational behind running a small lawnmower engine at full throttle?? Seems everywhere I go I see people running their lawn tractors full throttle when only cutting 1 inch of grass....why?? I'm from the old school and only use as much throttle as I need to get the job done without using extra fuel and putting all that wear and tear on a small air cooled engine. My small 8 hp Wheelhorse thats 20+ years old can mow the same amount of grass with the guy running around his city lot with his 23 hp tractor running at 3800 rpm while he's wasting fuel and such. Seems like a waste to me. Everyones comments are appreciated. Best regards, Mark in hot Buffalo

Years ago when I worked as a mechanic in a small engine shop we would always instruct the customers to run their equipment at full throttle when mowing. Some engines would simply overheat when put under load at lower RPMs. They need that flywheel spinning faster to cool down the engine block.

This was more of a problem on tractors where the engine was enclosed and unable to radiate much heat other than the airflow thru the shrouding. In fact Cub Cadet's, for a number of years, actually had the throttle marked to only mow at full throttle.

These engines are most efficient at full throttle.
Also cooling is a factor.
The higher HP models pull a much larger blade.
Why bother to cut an inch off the grass?
Longer grass survives the heat longer when long.

There is some rationale, yes. Different cooling fans. Until somewhere around 1985, you often saw forward-inclined fans, which worked well, but weren't the most efficient at full-throttle. Backward-inclined fans are common nowadays and they move more air at high engine rpms. I'm not an engineer, but given the difference in fan styles, could be they run a little cooler at WOT than at part throttle, given a constant load.