What's new
What's new

Laser center finder

I wouldn’t recommend one for fine work, perhaps .007 total position assuming conc. with spindle. This is due to the width of beam even when relatively close to the work piece. I don’t use it to come off an edge to a given linear however it works great for picking up an unknown point.

I've got one. I use it for aligning circuit boards to be tab routed, which is +-.005 type work at most. It works well and really fast there picking up internal features on a flat board.

My biggest complaint is that the shank is aluminum. I hold mine in a drill chuck and its getting little lines all over the shank. That can't be good for accuracy down the road.

JACOT,

I'm just a hobby machinist and may not work up to your level of precision, but my $.02.

I Love Mine!

I use it for all it's designed purposes, center hole shooter {I'm not quite sure why Perk complains about the size of the beam. That bad boy is almost microscopic! I have to turn out the lights and sometimes use a magnifying glass or magnifying hood just to see it!} edge finder, it EXCELLS at finding an unknown point! I have "shot" my scribed lines and then drilled and it's dead balls on! I use mine in a collet, one just for it, spent the $$ for a real good collet, I never take it out of that collet. So I agree with Comatose, I wish the case were steel not Aluminum.

I take it to the other "amatures" shops to assist in aligning their machines, especially after a total restoration, to align the Lathe Head and Tailstock. Also to set back up on the one lathe of mine that I don't have a taper attachment for and have to offset the tailstock.

I align {Tram} my mill also, I turn on the mill at the lowest speed, I can get quite slow as my mills are DC, Tram till the "Egg Shape" goes away on the "Target" they will send you with the Laser. I get as close with it as I do my Indicol and DTI

I would simply say that I have spent $70 USD in worse ways. Two Thumbs Up!!!

Take Care, Ken