What's new
What's new

An overhead crane

John Larson

Aluminum
I've been regularly upgrading my mills and lathes, and have gotten to the point where the lathe chucks, mill vises, and work pieces are simply too heavy to lift. I had planned on using a forklift, but this has no finesse at all. So I built a jib crane with a post and wheels on the outside end that looks like an A-frame post. My experience with jib cranes in the past has been a bit negative; they're massive relative to their lifting capacity. I sold the ones I had. I've used A-frames a good bit, too, but they are a bit easy to tip over with bad results. Also, they tend to always be in the way when not in use. Which is why I've been using the forklift solution for the past 4-5 years. I didn't want to run the forklift in my heated shop this winter. My mixture of the two bad ideas seems to be a good idea. Just finsihed and tested it today. The outboard pole and wheels pivot toward the wall and are out of the way when not in use. The outboard and inboard poles carry the weight like an A-frame.

Sounds great! If I could visualize it that is. ;) Would it be possible to post a pic? Or email me a pic and I will post it for you? I need to do something like this ASAP and I am interested in what you have done.

I improvised one for the lathe a few weeks ago.

Took a piece of 1.5" round tubing, pressed in some bearing bronze and bored it out to 1". Bent the tubing into an L shape, 3' tall, 2' long.

Next piece was a rod turned down to 3/4" (cozy fit in the end of the tubing), then a quick groove down it's length in the mill.

Groove was aligned on the corner of an aloris holder and welded in place.

Now to use the crane, I put on the aloris holder with the 3/4" shaft sticking straight up. Then I drop on the L shaped tubing, and then put a chainfall on there.

Oh yeah I added a couple of rings to attach the chainfall, one outboard, one in the middle of the leg.