What's new
What's new

Needle Scalers

JohnnyJohnsoninWI

Hot Rolled
Yah Hey Der,
Some recent comments from you guys about using needle scalers for paint removal have me curious. I've never used one before and would like to know about your experiences with and preferences for them.

A catalog search revealed choices in the number, length, diameter, and material of needles; also barrel or pistol grip shape, and stroke length.
It appears that the "general duty" scalers have a longer stroke (1-2.5") while the "industrial duty" scalers have a shorter stroke range of (1/4 -1").

My anticipated uses are for paint and rust removal from cast iron and also for slag removal from an occasional welding project.

Thanks,

John

The short throw units are superior in my opinion. I rebuild / restore a lot of old GM trucks and find that degunking, rust and paint and under coat removal from frames an cast parts is easily accomplished with a needlescaler. It does well on weld slag as well.

Be forewarned that is does beat the crap out fo the surface finish . . . not good for anything you want to be really pretty.

Needle scalers really work best on thick layers of paint on cast iron or heavy steel. Very noisy, but not as messy as media blasting. Not for sheet metal.

For cleaning up parts too big to fit into my blast cabinet, I use wire brushes on my large and small angle grinders then follow up in places I couldn't get to with the needle scaler -- it works real well in corners.

A needle scaler is one of my "indispensible" tools. Mainly for for peening and de-scaling welds. But also for other uses mentioned. It is a great tool for "faking" a casting out of a weldment. Get the part all welded up, grind to blend the corners and welds. Then hit it all over with the scaler and it puts the perfect smooth sand cast casting look on it. Not only that, but it is good for stress releif if done before machining.