What's new
What's new

Sharpening carbide inserts

Metal Slave

Hot Rolled
Just wondering how many of you all practice this & with what kind of success.

I've seen guys in the past touch up turning inserts but it seemed to me that they were lucky to make it through more than one or 2 passes before having to touch it up again.It also seemed that they were concentrating on touching up the outer edge of the insert down past the worn area.

I started playing around a few years ago touching up TPG & CNMG/SNMG inserts.After trying a few different methods I finally got it to where I could make one box of inserts last the equivalant of 3 or 4 boxes.And maybe it's just Psychosomatic but it almost seems like the inserts cut better than new after touching them up.So recently I tried my luck with milling inserts,mostly APKT,SPG & SEKR/SEAN inserts.Same thing,,they cut great & seem to last longer than the brand new edge did.They're a little harder to grind but the results are the same.

Most machinists that I know do not practice this so I'm wondering how many of you sharpen you're own carbide inserts.

I guess it depends on how your going at it, I've touched them up just to finish a job, or waiting for a new box of inserts to show up. I actually do it all the time on part off tools. For an insert that I'm really getting after it with, where I'm depending on the coating, geometry and edgeprep, I would be way too scared.