What's new
What's new

RF45 Mill and Drill Chuck

d1camero

Aluminum
I am a newbie to milling (aka plastic). I have purchased a Rong Fu 45 (more money than talent). I notice that the drill chuck for the mill fits nicely on the supplied R8 (MT#3) taper, but it has no way to secure the chuck to the taper. This seems a little odd to me, and I am thinking I am doing something wrong. - any suggestions?

thanks
D1

Installing a Jacobs drill chucks on its tapered shank. Morse taper shanks are intened to be inserted into their sockets and seated with a light tap. The thrust of the drill will seat them.

Jacobs tapers like on a drill chuck are a different deal. The best installation is a shrink fit. Make sure the male taper and its socket in the chuck are clean and grease free. Warm the chuck in the oven to 350 degrees which takes about 1/2 hour. It will smell a little but that’s normal for warmed lubricants. Wait til SWMBO is out of the house with all the little tattletales.

Using an oven mitt, grab the chuck and slip it solidly on the shank taper and hold it in place for a moment. Set the assembled chuck and shankaside and allow it to cool. This is a more solid fitting of tapers than you could attain with anything short of a press. Do not stroll casually from the house to the shop to install that chuck on the taper. In those few minutes the chuck can lose significant heat and thereby affect the its retention on the shank taper. Assemble the chuck on the shank right at the oven. Do not dally.

Most all materials expand when heated and contract when cooled. Steel is no exception expanding 6.5 millionths of an inch per inch per degree Fahrenheit.