What's new
What's new

Making Springs

scojen

Stainless
I need to reproduce some compression springs out of .025 wire and am looking for a simple safe tool to construct for this purpose in order to get good repeatability with the springs. Plus I know that out there somewhere is a guide or web page to give what size mandrel to use to get a given diameter. I know I can buy them but what fun is that, I would rather make a good tool and manufacture my own.

Scott

Making springs is not as much fun as you might think but it's a good skill to add ... I've always purchased springs but every once in a while, a special requirement comes up.

I'm no expert, so take this with a grain of salt, but here's the way I made twenty tapered compression springs the last time around.

Made a mild steel arbor, turned to about 2/3 of the desired spring I.D. At the headstock end, I drilled a hole to insert the music wire and hold it. (The arbor was center drilled and supported by the tailstock center.) After the spring is wound, the "tail" is nipped off.

Then I made a wire guide from brass. The wire guide (about 3/4 x 1/2 x 4) fit in the lathe toolpost and had a hole drilled at an angle to feed the music wire through. The guide was slotted THROUGH the guide hole and about an inch past it. A 10-32 shcs was located about 1/2 inch back from the guide hole and was used to provide friction on the music wire, like the clamping arrangement on a pinch knurl.

The lathe was in back gear, about 20 RPM, set up to feed from the headstock toward the tailstock. The lathe gearbox is set for something less than the desired spring pitch (this has to be determined experimentally).

To wind the spring, I'd move the lathe carriage until the brass wire guide was lined up with the hole on the arbor. Then loosen the friction screw on the brass guide and feed the music wire through the guide hole and through the hole in the arbor.