What's new
What's new

OT - Older gasoline engines and unleaded gasoline

JimK

Diamond
I have no experience running older gasoline engines on today's unleaded gasoline.

By older I don't mean ancient, I mean car and truck motors that wre in production when lead tetraethyl was dis allowed in gasoline.

I see gasoline additives sold for the engines that ran leaded fuel, Are they required?

I understand that when runing gaseous fuels that engines need stellite valve seats and valve faces. I can't imagine Ferds and Chevvulay's with that kind of sophistication.

What gives? Can I run a 1960's motor on today's gas without having troubles mit?

You shouldn't have any problems.

Lead is a requirement for engines under a constant heavy load.
Boats, trucks, race cars etc.

One of the back east oil companies sold unleaded gas for many years prior to the federal requirement for unleaded gas.

Studies they did showed that during normal passenger car use there were no problems.

You shouldn't have any problems running unleaded in a 60's era car.

The lead did in fact act as a lubricant - especially in the valve seat area. In my 1930 Packard I ran a little Marvel Mystery oil to compensate. Also known as "top oil".

John

The "lead substitute" and "octane booster" stuff is just snake oil. Tetraethyl lead is so deadly in the hands of the average person that there's no way its going to be in any of these concoctions in adequate quantity to have any real effect. There are a number of slow burning alcohols and petroleum based hydrocarbons that would give a slight increase in the octane rating as measured by knock resistance, but these would not replace the mechanical effect which the lead had. Somehow it "softened" the valve closing, something I've never quite understood. Undoubtedly it worked though.