What's new
What's new

OT: Snap-On, Facom tools

Spud

Diamond
Folks, whats your take on Facom automotive and general tools?
How does Facom compare to Snap-On.
Isn't Facom French? Are they sold here and if so are they made here or imported from Europe?

What are some other brands for good quality/durable tools specifically automotive. Only other pro tool brand I can think of is Mac.

I would rather buy a few top quality tools for now than buy many average quality tools for the same money.
I figure this way I would just have to spread my purchase out as money becomes available.

I believe that Facom is a French company and is associated with Britool and Sykes-Pickavent in the UK. I have no experience with Facom tools but have many Britool sockets, wrenches etc. and they are top quality, equal to Snap-on, which I also have.
Malc.

Facom is French, and owns the USA S-K brand and make decent tools under both names. They are about the same quality as Sears Craftsman. In fact, some Craftsman wrenches (the mirror polished ones about 10-15 years ago) were made by S-K. In my big city, there is no dealer for S-K/Facom. I have to drive thirty miles each way to the small town of Van Wert, OH to get warranty replacements. The retail price of S-K is too high to make it worth buying, but the Ohio dealer has sales twice a year.

I would say Craftsman is a better buy, when on sale. Sears stores are everywhere, so you can depend on free replacements for as long as they are in the tool business. They began the Craftsman brand in 1929, Before that, they sold Hillsdale tools, which also had a forever guarantee.

The brands that are sold to garage mechanics from trucks are overpriced and inconvenient for people not on their route. The truck owners make money because they get high prices and sell on weekly payment plans, with interest. The brands that I have seen on trucks are Snap-on, Matco, Mac, Cornwell, and S-K.