What's new
What's new

Drill bits

gearhead

Cast Iron
Need help in buying A GOOD SET OF DRILLS. I have found buying good old USA tooling to be the best for my applications. I now need a full set of drill bits and don't now a good American manufactor of them. I have tried to use the Harbor Frieght type of drill assortments without much success. I do strickly metal work and they just don't holdup. I know American bits will cost more, but you get what you pay for.

........I'm not a production shop so keep that in mind. Maybe 20 years ago I bought a set of Hansen x64ths for around the house and I still have them. Good bits.

Since getting into machining I bought a set of Chicago Latrobe letter and number bits (bright finish). And just recently a set of no name USA made screw machine number bits. I can't claim to do any hole making in wunderkinder alloys as it's mostly carbon steel and aluminum.

I don't use the same bit to drill umpity number of consecutive holes, but the common sizes have done their share. They all do a fine job and appear to cut a nice hole.

The main thing is, you can look at them and see the quality. I looked at a set of letter bit's recently that were made in India. Some of them may have drilled a hole, but there were some in there that would have been doubtfull.

Growing up I used to shop for the cheapest tires I could find. I don't do that anymore, and with tools I now make a real effort to buy the best tool I can afford. For drill bits I look to buy Chicago Latrobe, Cleveland Twist or Guhring.

Rick

I have purchased drills from many sources. If you stick to made in USA you will probably be OK. I made the mistake of buying a set of import drills from Enco and had to return them. I swapped for their US made set at a higher price and was completely satisfied. Many others will be essentially the same quality: KBC Tools, McMaster-Carr, AirGas, etc.

Just stay away from the imports. They can be very poor quality.