What's new

Semi OT Concrete table & bench "glue"

• Thread starter PTA Dad
  • Start date
  • Replies 6
  • Views 3,863
P

PTA Dad

A local PTA purchased 8 cast concrete tables, and 24 concrete benches to go with them for a local High School student use. The Co manufacturing them said to use Liquid Nails to hold the tops on the bases, and the bases in place. The school custodian did so- but did not believe they would "hold up". We are now 1 month later, and at least 2 benches have come "unglued".

My wife is wanting me to check into alternatives to the Liquid Nails while others are checking back with the manufacturer. My first thought was some sort of epoxy grout (machine mounting connection to forum!), but I have no experience with these. Any suggestions?

The tables and benches are out in the weather in Central MO. My guess is the Liquid Nails was specifed for its gap filling properties and not being brittle.
I have seen (in poor lighting) the legs of the benches. One one pair I see no evidence of Liquid Nails, and on the other I see some, and at areas some evidence of adherance to another surface, but large sections that look like they never touched anything. My wife says no cleaning of any kind was done to the surfaces before the liquid nails was applied- nor was surface prep specified by the maker. I believe the maker "screwed up" by not specifying a surface prep- and the custodian by not using enough liquid nails to span the gap in the joints- or putting on adhesive and letting it "skin over" before assembly. I also believe where it did touch it was to a surface contaminated by dust, dirt, and form release compound and so had poor adhearance. What do you think?