What's new
What's new

Threading questions

cd

Plastic
I searched the forums for this but came up empty handed.
I am pretty much self-taught on my machining abilities, and I know and am learning enough to do my basic repair oriented machining. The only thing I really have a question is threading.

using a JET GHB-1340W

its a pretty nice lathe coming from jet. swell for what I do.

I guess my main question is, how do you line your tool up with the next thread cut using a threading dial, which the lathe has. This makes no sense to me, could someone explain how you do this to me? Thanks

chris

I guess my main question is, how do you line your tool up with the next thread cut using a threading dial, which the lathe has. This makes no sense to me, could someone explain how you do this to me? Thanks
chris
Rather than try to explain it I have attached an explanation from Lathe Operation and Machinists Tables.....pg

ThreadingDial.jpg

I'm just starting to cut threads as well. Can someone tell me, how close to the marks on the threading dial do you need to be when engaging the half nut lever. I can't engage the lever at exactly where the mark is on the threading dial. It just won't let me as the threads on the lead screw and half nut are not yet fully alligned. If you look at fig 180 on the attachment you provided, that illustrates almost exactly when I am able to engage.

If you look at fig 180 on the attachment you provided, that illustrates almost exactly when I am able to engage.

The witness mark and the dial mark should be closer together than what is shown on fig 180.
As the dial mark comes around to the witness mark, engage the half-nut just as they are almost lined up. That should line them up almost perfectly.
Question: You do have your lathe in back gear when you are threading, don't you?.........pg