What's new
What's new

table top mills

Lloyd Wilson

Plastic
I am considering buying a small mill. I'm looking at the Grizzlys, the Grizzly showroom is just about 25 min. from my house. Price is a consideration. I'm looking at the G8689 mini mill, and the G1005 mill/drill. The Mini mill is about half the price of the other. All of the milling I would do would be small jobs for the miniature steam engines I want to build. How would the G8689 hold up to light milling work, would I be better off to go ahead, bite the bullet and buy the larger mill??? I have a 6" Atlas lathe that I bought about 30 yrs ago. The steam engines I have build were all done on this lathe, but a mill would be nice to have as the engines I'm building now are made from castings.
Lloyd

Lloyd,
I have the Grizzly mill/drill so I have some experience with it. I have read several commentaries on the mini-mill, as you probably have. I would say the biggest differences between the two are, of course, mass and then the table to spindle distance which can be an important factor I've found even with small steam engines. Another factor which may be important to you is the mini-mill's square column which means you won't have to relocate your work everytime to raise or lower the head like I do on the mill/drill. Judging from the commentaries on the mini-mill and my experience with the mill/drill, you can expect to tinker with the table screws.