What's new
What's new

What about Birmingham machine tools?

Toomany Tools

Aluminum
I'm in the process of outfitting a small gunsmith shop and I'm looking for a lathe and a knee mill. I've found that good prices can be had on Birmingham machine tools. I also know that these Chinese-made tools are marketed under several different names e.g. ENCO, Central Machine, etc. Does anyone have experience with these tools, particularly the knee mills? I'm very familiar with the 14x40 gear-head lathe but have never seen or used one of these mills. Thanks.

Do keyword search for 'birmingham'....this same question has already been asked and answered here at least 4 times...

My Birmingham Lux-Matter 13x40 inch lathe is Taiwanese made. Now I am an amateur home machinist, but I don't have any serious complaints. Your mileage may vary.

Regards,
-Art K

apparently the tiawanese stuff is better than the chinese...we just bought a chinese Acra Turn and I refused to use it and sent it back it was so bad...
Im shooting for the european stuff myself..

The last place I worked got 2 Birmingham mills. The were scratched up and freight damaged. One had a handle broken.

The vari-drives wouldn't adjust. You had to bump the brake as you turned it to increase the speed.

After the pulleys came off, we saw that the chain that goes in the adjustment wheel is hand drilled and drove into a blind hole so that you can pull it out.

The slots in the tables aren't cut true. I was machining a large plate of aluminum that I had squared up and noticed that you could see part of the t-slot on one end and it was hidden on the other end. About 4 degrees off.

You can't lay a shaft in the top of the t-slots because they are rough and unfinished (look like they were cut in with a chainsaw).

The slots in the table don't extend to the end of the table. If you were going to use the slots for keying a shaft, it would have to be 4" shorter than the table.