What's new
What's new

1/8 IPS Thread ???

11B4VLA

Aluminum
I searched but couldn't find anything. This must have come up before so forgive me. Lamp fixtures apparently use a straight pipe thread. I have looked in some of my machinist books (I'm an amateur homeshop guy) and can't find much. I want to drill and tap a hole for a lamp fixture nipple. The nipple is about 0.386 inches in diameter measuring across the tops of the threads.

At my local Ace HW they show the designation for these nipples as 1/8 IPS. I believe the TPI is 27. Does the IPS stand for Iron Pipe Straight? I'm not familiar with pipe thread designations and can't figure out the 1/8 either. What on earth does this stand for?

Do I want to buy a 1/8 NPS tap to tap this guy and therefore a tap drill "S"?

Thanks in advance.
-Art

"I" = internal?

P = pipe - but you prolly already got there eh?

S = strait

I'm not familiar with pipe thread designations and can't figure out the 1/8 either. What on earth does this stand for?

Your serious? You never used pipe fittings before? Pipe sizes are sized for the internal bore of the pipe, although in many of the smaller cases (especially 1/8") the bore is off nominal by quite a margin.

W/O looking - yes - 1/8NPS is likely a letter S. (National Pipe Strait.)

Also - 1/8 pipe is 27 TPI.

While it is great that the local hdwr was able to help you out like this - you can save yourself many future haertaches (attacks?) by NOT buying hdwr quality cutting toys! And I kant stress this nearly enough when it comes to TAPS! They can be used succesfully in thread repair - but not for cutting new. (Your milage may vary.)

------------

Think Snow Eh!
Ox

Okay, but if 1/8 means 1/8" what does this refer to? Clearly the inside diameter of this is greater than 1/8". The S tap drill is 0.3480 inches, so I still don't understand the nomenclature of 1/8. Can you help or point me to an explanation?