What's new
What's new

125-250 RMS Surface Finish

Ben_A

Aluminum
I have a customer that wants a 125-250 RMS serrated-concentric finish put on a 316L SS plate. The only problem is, I have never done this before and am having trouble finding a concrete answer or standard. I thumbed through the Machinist Handbook, but couldn’t find anything (of course I could have been looking in the wrong place). I eventually found ASME B16 – Standards of Pipes and Fittings, but of course it is just an outline, and I don’t want to spend 100’s of dollars on something that might not answer my question.

I did a quick search here under the general and general new for 125-250 RMS, but nothing came back.

So, can anyone tell me what 125-250 RMS serrated-concentric is (I also understand that there is a 125-250 RMS serrated-spiral as well, what’s the difference)? Pictures would be a huge help. Thanks in advance for the help.

Ben

Ben,

By your question I could not tell if you were having a problem understanding the RMS or the serrated concentric, or both. I found a website that may help some with regards to machining, web page

The RMS (Root Mean Square) is measured per DIN4762/Ansi B46-1. On most surface finish gage settings it is also known as Rq, which according to my info at hand is about 25% greater than Ra. -Mike

Mike,

Thanks for the response.

After I posted the question here, I went to the public library and looked up ASME B16.5-1996 (I had seen a few references to this standard in my web research). Section (or whatever you call it) 6.4.4.3 Other Flange Facings states, "Either a serrated concentric or serrated spiral finish having a resultant surface finish from 125 micro in. to 250 micro in. average roughness shall be furnished. The cutting tool employed should have an approximate 0.06 in. or larger radius, and there should be from 45 grooves/in. through 55 grooves/in."