What's new
What's new

3/8 steel rod threading

tucsonguy

Plastic
Hi, I'm a total newbie but I saw a similar post here a while back so I thought this would be a good place to post my question.

I need to thread a LOT of 8 inch long 3/8 thick steel rods, for half an inch on both ends. I'd like to use 3/8-16 threads. My question is, apart from a machine lathe, is there any tool that will let me do this quickly? Any kind of hand held or table top power die that can be used to make these threads? I don't much like the idea of threading 100+ steel rods by hand, 1/2 of threads on either end.

I know these can be purchased as studs, but I can't find ones with the right length threading on both ends, except very expensively.

Thanks in advance!

You'll pay anywhere from $800-3000 for a threading machine to do that work, if you want to do it with a power tool that isn't a lathe. I would suggest either buying a used lathe, and a die (better yet a die head), or find a machine shop to do the work for you. A shop with a CNC lathe could likely bang those out in a few hours, at $75-125/hr. The real question is, what do you consider to be "quickly"?

You may also be able to rent a pipe threading machine, if that's the way you want to go.

Last edited:
They do make bolt dies for Ridgid pipe threaders. It may be worth a call to your local plumbing supply to see if they offer the service. If not, a geometric die head and a turret lathe would eat these up rather quick as well. And then there is always CNC.

How critical is the length of threads? If a design change could permit longer threads, McMaster sells them all day long for $1.83.

Why isn't anyone recommending this?

51LV%2Bk7hP7L._SX342_.jpg