What's new
What's new

4" vise for a small hori. mill?

thomas1

Aluminum
I'm in the market for a vise to go with a Sheldon No. 0 horizontal miller, I've also got the vert head that is driven off the rear of the spindle. I'm leaning towards a 4" vise with a swivel base. I'm not in a production enviroment so, I can't justify the cost of a Kurt (even though if I ever get one I'll wonder how I got along without it.) :D
Is there a noticable difference in quality between any of the imports, specifically these Bisons ? Most of the imports seem to be very hit and miss on QC. :(
Thanks
Tom

I had a 3" Kurt style vise on my Vernon (same as your Sheldon), and I thought it was a pretty good fit. I think the 4" might be a little big for the table.

I have no personal experience with Bison vises, but the product should be better than one made in China. I have a five inch Kurt copy from China and while it is pretty good on being parallel, the lock down jaw does not work well.

I'm open to any brand of vise. Seems I'm headed towards more invested in the vise than in the rest of the machine.
ztarum, do you remember the make of the vise you had?

I bought a 3" Kurt clone from littlemachineshop.com and am pleased with it. It is their so-called premium vise. It is noticeably better than a Phase II, and is about as accurate as I can measure. Also, the hardness checked out when measured here at work. My complaints are (1) I had to disassemble and clean it, as it had oily dirt in it (grinding residue??), (2) the paint chips fairly easily, and (3) the wrench is cast iron and a bit clunky. It fits nicely, though. YMMV

I bought a 4" PhaseII vise from getmachiningtoolsdotcom. It's a Kurt clone and I've got it clamped down on my Clausing 8520 and it's pretty decent so far. I got good service from them.

Usual disclaimers apply.

Andy Pullen

Thanks, rklopp

I was hoping to hear from someone with one of these.