What's new
What's new

AB Tools, Inc. makers of the Shear-Hog wants feed back

AlfredLyon

Aluminum
Hello PM community,

AB Tools has been manufacturing special rotary cutting tools since 1977. I have been working for them for 27 years. I recently joined Instagram , and I know that many of you are not thrilled with social media. While on there I was told to check out PM and I think it is great. The machinist community coming together to learn and teach is just great.

So if anybody has used any of our cutters please chime in, good or bad.

I'll leave you with a link to a youtube video of some of our in stock cutters . Sorry but there is no sound, I don't know why.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUR_urA-4OA

Thanks, Alfred
Grinding supervisor

Last edited:
I've had great luck with AB tools customs, indexable and brazed carbide.

I wish you guys made PCD form tools.

I was pretty unimpressed with the shear hog. There are much better tools out there for aluminum.

I was pretty unimpressed with the shear hog. There are much better tools out there for aluminum.

1-agreed
2-agreed
3-talk is cheap Wesssssssssss, especially without name dropping

I used to work in an aluminum foundry. I'd say 80% of the "milling" done to a casting is face milling. Face milling castings really sucks. The castings are inconsistent, so your theoretical .1" DOC can become .4" because some yahoo forgot to cut the gate in the right spot.

Also, castings are usually thin and hard to hold onto. That means they can vibrate and that is hell on inserts.

We tried a few PCD mills, but the silicon inclusions in the castings just destroyed the inserts and it got too costly to replace them. The best mills we used were from Walter. They had a DLC coating and 4 edges on the inserts. They could do everything but ramp.