What's new
What's new

Acrylic Machinery Paint?

Jeff_G

Hot Rolled
Its becoming expensive to buy alkyd ("oil") paints in my area, and the color choices are limited. Everything I'm hearing suggests that solvent-based paints may be completely unavailable in a few years, or at least may be restricted to industrial application processes where the VOCs can be controlled.

Anyone have any recent experience with acrylic paints on machinery?

Jeff G,

I've been using acrylic based enamels for a couple of years. I use PPG Pitt Tech Plus with varying results.

Preparation is crucial, more crucial than oil or solvent paints. Do not use hydrocarbon base cleaners on your project or the paint will come off in sheets.

If properly applied the coating will have excellent adhesion.

I have not found a way to get high gloss from this product tho I am experimenting regularly and am looking at other brands of coatings.

I have painted my hydraulic punch press with this and it has been holding up very well. I have painted all my racks and with it as well.

Acrylic enamel is very thick and you may be tempted to thin it with water. I have had poor results with thinning even at the manufacturers recommended ratios and prefer to modify the spray gun so I can spray it unthinned. I have gone to pressurizing the cup on a gravity feed Fuji HVLP turbine system.

Soap and water for cleaning the gun is an added benefit.

Good luck and please report back.

Chuck
Burbank, CA

I used it on my last machine restoration and found that oils and coolants stain it badly.Sherwin Williams industrial brand.Don't remember why I used it as oil base enamel is plentiful in this area.

Painted my new zinc steel shed door with acrylic exterior paint, there must have been oil residues as it peels off in huge sheets after drying.