What's new
What's new

Any interest in an engineering youtube channel similar to oxtools or abom79's videos?

vettedude

Stainless
I hope this topic title gets the point across. I am an engineer, and often find myself hunting around for answers or referring back to text books to remember how to do things, this is not uncommon for an engineer.

I have given some thought to creating a you tube channel similar to some of the manufacturing channels discussing engineering challenges and projects.

I want to focus on using resources parts, tools etc. that are available already to everyone, and how to design for specific goals. The goals will focus on design for manufacture, cost, reliability, following standards.

All of the below are things that I have had to build/design before and are systems, and cover a wide variety of engineering disciplines.

List of topic ideas:
Pressure vessel build
Hydraulic press build
Oven build
Cascade style refrigeration system build

If this sounds like a crap idea, I am going to forget about it.

Sounds good to me. It would be really helpful to have someone show the use of testing/analysis tools in software like Fusion360 or others. Many of us can design good "looking" structures, but how do we know they are safe and stable? As Tom at Ox Tools says, "Nothing built too strong ever broke". Slightly overbuilding or at least building to some specification and testing with the fancy new software is a goal of mine.

Sounds good to me too! anyone who posts up a video of any practical work is educating and inspiring others to follow suite, and giving them the confidence and skills necessary to do it themselves. I have learned a huge amount from you tube. There is no nobler calling. Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, teach him to fish and he will borrow your boat and tackle. (perhaps the last bit isn't relevant) Go for it!!

I'd watch if it was like Abom's. Ox just likes listening to himself talk.