What's new
What's new

Anyone have experience with bench top injection molding machines

SBAER

Hot Rolled
As a prototyping shop making electric motors we often require small plastic parts that made from resins that are not 3D printable, resins with glass reinforcement, high temperature stuff. I machine parts when I can but geometry is often a limitation. I am interested in the idea of making very simple molds in-house and making parts (quantity 50-500) using a simple bench top injection molding machine

Something like this

Manual Benchtop Injection Molding Machine MIM-2,a standard mold&Free Shipping | eBay

Or this

Alibaba Manufacturer Directory - Suppliers, Manufacturers, Exporters & Importers

Long cycle time is not a problem, I just want to shorten the time between design and part in hand as well as cut the cost.

I have no experience with plastic injection molding so I don't know how hard it is to get the process to work.

Anybody done this?

I just ran across this as I also was looking to mold some parts this looks like it would handle what your wanting to do.

Model 15A
| LNS Technologies

They are showing demo’s using Polypropylene which has an operating temp of up to 130C. The vise setup is a little funky I’d most likely do a little rebuild on it. And make my molds a lot different.

It’s kind of a hobby toy but may work. I’m still looking to see what is out there though…

If I can find the parts I may build my own.

we used something called a 'huff n puff' benchtop injection machine. Having a mold background, they had me make the tools and run it when we needed some parts made. It worked just fine. There was a hopper and heating element up top, some sort of pressure device to push the plastic out a nozzle down into the 'sprue'. The mold was held in a vise. Very primitive but it worked!
As an alternative, could you find a prototype molder to run your mold? I've done that too.
JinNJ