What's new
What's new

Does anybody here make Steel Rule Dies?

gmatov

Diamond
Title says it all. Do ANY of you make Steel Rule Dies, in the size of 9 X 12?

I'd like to know if anybody can. We have mold makers and die makers and machinists, but if I asked you to make a die that can cut a crystanthemum from 65 # card stock, I would like to talk at you.

Might be the wrong place to ask. More of you read this thread than the RFQ thread, and I think you have more smarts.

Cheers,

George

I worked in the printing industry right out of H.S. We used steel rule dies to cut cardstock on an old handfed platen press I ran. If all else fails maybe do some searching in that area of industry.

Leatherworkers use them. Try Tippman Industrial in Fort Wayne IN. They are the paint ball people, but they also make leather sewing machines and clickers, the machine that stamps out leather parts. They make custom dies. Very nice folks.
John Lewis

I highly recommend Paragon Steel Rule Die in Rochester NY. Fast turn and good to work with. They also do laser and water jet cutting. Mike McDeid is the boss man

Yep i will secound the print die supplier route, there a lot of them over here and something like you want would be in the $200 range here. Probaly turn around in a day or 2 as well.

I use Apple Die. Send 'em a .dxf, get back the die a week later. not too expensive either. something that size would be 2 or 3 hundred bucks tops.

http://www.appledie.com/

I'll second Apple Die, haven't used them for a while, but they always turned it around fast. I always had a die in my hand in 2-3 days(they're right up the street, 400miles), and reasonable prices and good quality. I'd also wager $200-$300 depending on complexity, I've had dies made from them for as little as $90.

Edit: I could have sworn they were in Phoenix, apparently not, still 2-3 days.

Thanks, guys,

I've been in touch with Ace, Paragon, Key, waiting for a response.