What's new
What's new

Axial Piston Hydraulic Pump-Troubleshooting?

Machinery_E

Titanium
This pump is on the gundrill I'm trying to get going. To start, I'm by no means a hydraulics expert-I sure could use some help here!

EldoradoHydraulicPump.jpg

The problem...I don't think the pump is working right. The gage on the left-hand side of the manifold block is only reading about 400 PSI. Its on the output side of the pump. The pump powers two hydraulic cylinders that drive the drill head and also a hydraulic motor that runs the drill head. The cylinders work, IMO slow and rough, but when you open the hydraulic valve to turn on the drill head. (Its mechanical) nothin' happens.

When the pump is runing it sounds horrible. Its kind of like its hammering...its so loud you about need ear protection!!! This is a axial piston pump as I discovered when I took the end piece apart to see if there was a problem in the pump. It has an adjustable swash plate that's adjusted by loosening a nut, and a clamp that you can see sticking out on the side at the end of the pump. Then you turn what looks to be a rotary union with the hydraulic hose on it to adjust the displacement of the swash plate. When you have it adjusted so the swash plate has no to a very small amount of displacement, the pump sounds fine, but its not making any pressure. When you adjust it all the way in, (and the swash plate is at its max angle) its sounds horrible, and makes the apprx. 400 PSI of pressure according to the gage.

I'm using what the OEM specs as the correct oil (DTE-24) The tank is full. I pulled the inlet hose off, and you can blow through it fine, and the pickup in the tank (its a screen type deal) looks like its clear. The pump is turning in the right direction. When I had the pump apart it looked okay, nothing looked out of the normal.

Any ideas of what the problem could be here?

Thanks so much!!!
Eric