What's new
What's new

Baldor carbide grinder-What wheels do I buy?

rickseeman

Cast Iron
I want to buy a Baldor carbide grinder. All I need to sharpen is HSS and cemented carbide lathe bits and I guess I would use this to sharpen drill bits also? I doesn't come with wheels so I need to decide which ones to get. (I'm a newbie.) Aluminum oxide? Silicon carbide? I assume I don't need diamond? Thanks

I highly recommend the Baldor , as opposed to the clones. There is a huge difference in balance and quality. Aluminum oxide is best for HSS. Be sure to get the diamond wheel dresser and the adjustable tool guide. The tool guide normally is included when new, but the dresser is normally optional. You should also shop around for the wheels. I recommend the 60 grit in AO.

I bought a new Baldor carbide grinder many years ago. At the time, I thought it was the best choice. The wheel hubs wobbled, so I had to take them off and true them up in the lathe. I have a green (silicon carbide) wheel on one end, solely for rough grinding brazed carbide lathe tools for taking off big chips or doing a major reshaping job. It sort of worked, but I never really liked using it. I have not used that wheel for decades, preferring a green wheel on a conventional bench grinder.

The other end of my Baldor carbide grinder has a plated diamond wheel. It worked OK, but I later got a low speed oscillating head grinder with the magnetic wheel holder and medium and fine quick change diamond wheels. I liked the oscillating grinder better than the Baldor.

Then I got a Glendo Accu-Finish grinder and an assortment of plated diamond wheels. That is the only one I have used for carbide lathe tools since I bought it. I also use it for putting the final edge on HS lathe tools.

I use SRD/TDR drill grinders. They work. They produce factory-like geometry. They have one chuck instead of a hundred-odd collets like the Black Diamond.

Larry