What's new
What's new

How to cut old flywheel into gear blanks

Conrad Hoffman

Diamond
Some time ago I posted about making new gears for a friends 1920s SB. While dumping my trash, I spotted an old flywheel at the dump, which is now in my garage. The flywheel that is, not the dump. I think. No idea what it's from, but it's about 16-18" diameter and relieved on one side. It was cast and says GM2 on it. There's easily enough material to get some gear blanks out of it, but I'm not sure how to cut it up- for me "big" parts are an inch or two in diameter. My options are my O/A torch, though I have little experience cutting anything, the big Grob bandsaw at work, but there's aren't any blades there for steel, just aluminum, my little woodworking bandsaw (probably hopeless for this), or maybe set it up on the mill and crank my way through it. I don't think I have any kind of circle cutter strong enough for this. I need 3.7" diameter by 1/2" blanks- the thin part of the flywheel is 3/4" thick, so it's close. Also, what are flywheels made out of? Though cast, this seems more like steel than cast iron. How to tell? Yes, I could buy metal, but I'm way too cheap. Ideas? :D

It is probably cast iron, so a cutting torch will not work well. A steel-cutting band saw is best. Second best is a 4" bi-metal hole saw run very slow in a big drill press. But watch out for hard spots.

I dragged home a nice shiny (no rust yet) truck flywheel from a recycling business (junk yard) years ago. It was big enough to carve into some nice lathe parts. It was beautiful cast iron with a ground face for the clutch facing to engage. I began to saw into it and it was easy going until I hit one of many blue spots, caused by localized heating from the clutch. Those spots were glass hard and wrecked my blade. So that thing went to the land fill.

Larry

Larry

Yes, I could buy metal, but I'm way too cheap. Ideas? :D