What's new
What's new

Beginning milling projects

Avsfan135

Cast Iron
Hi guys

I have 2.5 years experience running cnc lathes and mills. I am now venturing into manual machining which I have no experience with.

I was wondering if anyone had some good ideas for simple and maybe even useful projects (tools etc) I could work on to start getting some skills

Thanks in advance

Nick

Nick,

Someone asked almost the exact same question on another forum. Main difference is there was no indication of experience of running any sort of machine tool. So... not all of this will apply to you. I answered thus:

Very first thing on a mill (or any tool) is read the manual. Cover to cover. Make sure you understand what everything does.
Next thing, on a vertical mill, is tram the head.
Next, inspect and lube machine: check axis locks, is there a collet in the spindle? belt tensions OK? T-slots clean? all the oil reservoirs have adequate oil or grease? lube all lube points in the chart, clean and lube ways, inspect safety covers.
Run all axes full length of travel, everything smooth? check and adjust gibs.
Check condition of table: With nothing mounted on it run your hand over it lightly checking for burrs and bings and raised edges. If you find any stone them off.
Using a ground bar of about 1" diameter and length at least the width of the table, roll it along the surface. As it rolls along does it clunk along or roll smooth from one end to the other. If the rod bumps or hesitates there is a raised spot, probably from a dropped tool, part or clumsily handled fixture or vise. Stone off the bump or it will throw off the alignment of the vise or fixture.