What's new
What's new

Best 45/37 flare fitting option for SUS304 to AL6061 connection

seesoe

Plastic
Hello everyone, i'm trying to find some more information on a project i'm working on but i'm still learning all the types of mechanics behind the task.

I have about 1000 (potentially a lot more) 1/2" OD x 0.035" SUS304 tubing ends that I need to connect to AL6061 manifold bodies and i'm wondering what the best connection method for this would be? The components will have normal atmospheric pressure air flowing through them with the occasional tap water flow to clean the system out.

With that said, what would be the simplest method for these connections that would still allow for the possibility to remove the tubing from the manifold for manifold maintenance? I originally used copper tubing with brass flare fittings, but that involved turning down a bunch of brass flare x MPT fittings because the current design of the manifold only has 6.5mm of thread depth available, and also we chose SUS304 for other purposes instead of copper.

Because the manifold body does not have much threading depth, I was thinking to have 45* flares/threads milled to the side of the manifolds, thus eliminating having to buy flare couplers, turning them down, and install them tightly in place. Then I was thinking to use regular cheap brass flare nuts. But something about that set up seems off. :scratchchin:

I would really appreciate any input on this to get me in the right direction on what would be the best method for connecting the pipes to the manifolds, thanks!

Erich, thanks for the suggestion. I avoided compression fitting connections from the start because I didn't want to have permanent connections with the brass crush ferrules. I had no idea that there's delrin ferrules and silicone rings for non permanent compression fitting style connections! This definitely seems like a viable solution. I will start looking into this.