What's new
What's new

Spindles and Chucks

genejohnson

Plastic
As a beginner, I am confused at the different spindle sizes and chuck mounting. Where can I find something to explain the most popular spindle sizes and how you obtain chucks to fit. Maybe spindle dimensions or various ways of chuck mounting would help me.
Mostly I hear a spindle described by diameter and then I hear about a 5C spindle and 5C tooling. so you can see how confusing it is to someone like me. Gene

You did not mention machine type, but I will assume you are referring to lathes.

5C is a collet system, has nothing much to do with the topic.

There are threaded spindles - from teeny to huge. The largest spindle nose threads I can think of are about 14" OD. This is the oldest way to hold a chuck on a spindle.

There are maker or proprietary spindle noses - Hardinge taper nose comes to mind - no threads.

There are "standard" spindle noses used on larger industrial machines. These range from small to huge. These are in several "types", or designs. Three types are "A", "D" and "L"

John Oder

As a beginner, I am confused at the different spindle sizes and chuck mounting. Gene

Gene,
Once you have determined the mounting setup for your lathe it is a matter of determining what chuck will best hold the work you wish to turn. Most people will interchange several types of chucks and the advantages of each have been debated several times already (4 jaw, 6 jaw, 3 jaw, 5C, etc.) Size just adds another variable which makes the group even larger. I would say that quality is another important component, it typically matches the quality of the lathe. A cheap holding device usually does not work as smoothly and accurately but then it may be better than doing without.

Raymond

Most common from what I've seen are

-threaded as John mentioned, denoted with simple OD size and thread pitch

-"long taper" which are denoted L00, L0, L1, etc

-"camlock" which are usually denoted D1-3, D1-4, D1-6, etc.