What's new
What's new

Best School for Tool & Die in Ontario, Canada?

I'm not sure under which heading to file this thread, so I've put it into General, and will defer to the moderator's judgement about where it should be placed.

I'm wondering if anyone here has an opinion on which of the tool & die pre-apprenticeship programs in Ontario, Canada is the most prudent?

I'm currently a woodworker in my early 30s looking to transition to the machining industry. My areas of interest include tool & die, general machining, and maintenance/repair machining. I have some personal experience working in my home shop (as well as the usual sense of workmanship, order of operations, and methods of measurement you learn with any trade), but understand that some level personal investment is required (often in the form of a pre-apprenticeship program these days...) to attract the attention of employers who are willing to take on an apprentice.

Thoughts? Specifically from fellow Canadians with relevant perspective on the matter?

Thanks.

Welcome, it's good to see younger guys getting into the trade.

First, where are you located? As you probably know, most of the manufacturing in Ontario takes place probably within 100km of Toronto.

Seeing as you already have some experience, I wouldn't bother with a pre-apprenticeship course. I would be handing out resumes to small jobs shops. There you'll learn more in a month than a year at school. Once you get a job, then you can register as an apprentice.

I would recommend Seneca or Sheridan College. They both have a variety of good programs ranging from 1-3 years. I teach part time at Seneca and I know most of the graduates are employed right out of school. I do know that a lot of employers go directly to the colleges when looking for new hires.

Good for you with doing some investigating .. shows you have something on the ball.
Tool and Die Programs at Ontario Colleges | ontariocolleges.ca