What's new
What's new

Best way to Cut Internal Keyway in Flanges for Bulk Production

kkraj

Plastic
Dear All,
I am new in engineering Business, Using Shapper Machine for internal Keyway cutting in 12mm to 1 Inch thick MS Flanges/ Couplings. some buddy told me that if I use Slotter machine against the shapper then it will more usefull and time saving for me.. please suggest that which is best for production ? I have to cut 40 to 60 internal keyways daily..

Thank you for your time..

Regards,
kkraj

Happy first post!

Other than the plane of operation, the action and function of shapers and slotters are so virtually identical, that some manufacturers called their machines "vertical shaper/slotters" Basically, turning the ram of a shaper from the horizontal to the vertical makes the difference. One company, Rhoads, actually offered a bolt on frame addition that makes that quarter turn of the ram and the additional linkage to complete the horizontal to vertical shaper transformation.

You might do well to search "rotary" broaching, such as here, Rotary Broaching Videos | Slater Tools, Your Source for Rotary Broaching and Screw Machine Tools "pull broach" for the cut that is needed.

Or pull broaching, an operation in use for many years, with used machines of a wide range of capacity available, which would be my choice for your need. A single action, one pull-through of the broach, completes the needed slot with precision. CNC versions are now available but for your stated needs, a good 50 year old pull broaching machine and manual operation, would most likely be the best return for your machinery investment.

Bob
Edit: Pull broaching opens up the opportunity for any internal shape imaginable, for just the price of another broach. Standard broaches in many configuration, some below in the second thumbnail and custom broaches at a higher price.

Attachments

• Pull broaching.jpeg
    Pull broaching.jpeg
    8.7 KB · Views: 6,406