What's new
What's new

Monarch or Clausing

wheeliecake

Plastic
Hi,

So here is the question, simply put which is a better lathe Monarch 10EE or a 14" Clausing. I know the Clausing has been tested and can cut accurately to 0.0005. Ok, so my reasons, I'm a beginner looking to buy a good used lathe. I have about 2k to spend and there seem to be a few good lathes for sale in my area, which is Los Angeles. I am looking to learn, work on my motorcycles and make prototypes; I'd like to do some gun smithing but that is going to be a 'confidence' thing and I obviously have a long way to go.

I feel kind of silly saying it but the Monarch looks nicer...

Thanks, Ron.

:scratchchin:....... Condition, Condition, Condition. Being equal, a Clausing is not even in the same league as a EE, but if the EE is a POS....:popcorn:

There is no clausing on earth that will hold .0005, you may hit that number once in a while but it will be by accident. A 10 EE is about 50x the lathe any Clausing is. 2000.00 won't buy a good one though so buy the clausing and learn how to use it. It doesn't mater witch one you get if you don't know what your doing.

Thanks, I know you're right if you don't know what you are doing then it doesn't matter what machine you have. However, I really don't want to have to go through the update process as it has been such a chore to even get this close to getting a lathe. This is the line from the guy selling the Clausing: "the ways are in good shape last part I ran it held .0005 +or- " so I am only going by what he said; I have yet to check out the machine myself.

That being said the A10EE is 2500 and I would stump up the rest of the cash and I have to go and look, but I am definitely interested.

I really appreciate the reply's and I think getting started is the hardest thing!